Posted by: mrrx | May 6, 2011

World Of Tanks

The continued SOE downtime pushed me to try out a game advertised on Facebook – World of Tanks.

I’ve been playing it for the last two nights and it’s pretty fun.    I grew up as a wargamer and have pretty much not done any wargaming for 20 years.    This was a breath of fresh air – all those tanks I learned about in many history books, in a nicely rendered environment, where you can simply jump in for a few minutes or a few hours.    The development component is buying upgrades for your tank, and purchasing additional new tanks.    You have to “research” them as well.

This is the between battles portion of the game; each battle is a 15 person deathmatch where you are thrown in with a random group of people.    (Arranged battles are also possible)    It took me awhile to get used to the controls and thinking required in a multiplayer deathmatch again, then I had the absolute best time with the game.

I participated in a battle on a largely empty set of fields, with some lowlands and fences to deal with as well.    I was getting better at staying put and being a sniper, albeit in a tiny tank with a tiny gun.    And then some enemy player exposes himself on the field and runs straight at me.     I thought I had it made, time for a kill from cover, and blasted him perhaps 5 times with my cannon.   I was shocked to see him blow past me and take me out.     Must have been a medium tank.     Well, getting killed is not surprising.   What was surprising was to see him run past me and get caught up with two of my teammates, and take them both down.    Then immediately run over after another group of three, and take all of them out.    He was an ANIMAL, and I wanted to be able to do the same thing.   Think I’ll have to keep playing and get my skills up and see where that takes me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

