Posted by: mrrx | January 2, 2009

Ancient Chinese Strategy

Romance of the 3 Kingdoms is a 1988 game by Koei, produced by Kou Shibusawa.    I grabbed this one when it came out and played it nonstop for months, but what really makes this one special for me is that *I still play it*.    At least once every two years I fire this up and get partway through a grand campaign, and even manage to complete them occasionally.

rtk1.jpg

What makes this game so compelling ?   Managing the million-and-one items each province has (gold, rice, generals, etc).   The fact that it’s based on a very old Chinese book of the same name doesn’t hurt either.    The combat system was very well done, especially for something this old.    Running under Dosbox, it works perfectly.This is the battle mode

I even persuaded bemused relatives and tolerant friends into sitting around my PC, playing a hotseat multiplayer game.    Up to 8 players could play, though rounding up two was the best I could ever manage.    Many later versions have come out, some for the PC in English, and I own them.    Still, this is the one I come back to.

This game will never leave my hard drive.

Responses

  1. Sounds like my love affair for Rogue-likes 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

