Posted by: mrrx | February 15, 2007

How to Parley in Derogar’s Outpost

Barkscratch : Ding 69 diplomat.     The rumor is that diplomacy skillups are going to be coming faster soon.    I hope so.    What a long slow grind it is to get extra skill points.

It turns out that nothing is going to be quite as helpful for diplomacy as documenting what works, and what doesn’t.      There’s not a ton of variation in multiple parleys with the same NPC.    It’s a matter of finding a strategy and a deck that works to defeat them.     And the best way to get XP is apparently to grind, grind, grind, grind over and over with as little risk as possible.

I mean, why take a chance on losing a parley ?    I get 1 point of prestige faction for winning, and lose up to 3 for losing.     That’s some nasty progress hit.    Couple this with your inability to re-try a failed NPC for a substantial amount of time, and this makes documenting what works even more important.   And Don’t Take Risks.

So with that in mind, I’ve done some documenting what’s needed to defeat NPC’s.

My first deck I’m christening my Power Deck.     Four Reds and a Blue.

  • Blunt Evaluation (gives red & blue expression)
  • Vulmane Howl (4 red cost, 5 movement)
  • Aggressive Statement (2 red cost, three movement)
  • Flat Dismissal (turn 2 green into 4 red)
  • Loud Criticism (2 blue cost, three movement)

This deck works very well on these NPC’s when doing Incite, aka Red Green Blue parleys :

  • Kineah Simoro (75 skill)
  • Terlinna Gunston (75 skill)
  • Swiftfang Cloa (50 skill)
  • Bjorn Rolgar (50 skill)
  • Rondro Srolgor (50 skill)
  • Grom Orvonn (50 skill)
  • Logogar (50 skill)
  • Svartr Rugtvedt (75 skill) – works sometimes at least.

The outlier on all this is Shield Tramel, 75 skill.    Sometimes the deck works, sometimes not.     More skill might help with this guy.     Replacing One Fell Swoop for Vulmane Howl in the deck helped a lot, but that was only available if the diplomacy event got triggered in the city.     The major difficulty with him being he uses red and blue expression very effectively, so you want to starve him of it and use what you get.     I can use the red well, but not the blue.

Then there’s my Rainbow Yellow deck.      The idea with this deck is to use it for an NPC that can’t/doesn’t use a lot of the expression that you throw his way when parleying.    Red Green Blue parleys (ie, no yellow).

  • Blunt Evaluation (gives red & blue expression)
  • Aggressive Statement (2 red cost, three movement)
  • Snippet of Wisdom (2 movement, give opponent 1 of each expression)
  • Itemized Comparison (2 green cost, three movement)
  • Loud Criticism (2 blue cost, three movement)

Rainbow Yellow works well on these NPC’s :

  • Norma Drosh (50 skill)
  • Firahl Arlogh (50 skill)
  • Gaogar Turh (50 skill)

Finally there’s the Rainbow Red deck.     Same general idea as the other Rainbow, but for Green Blue Yellow parleys.

  • Enticing Whisper (2 yellow cost, three movement)
  • Blanket Accusation (1 movement, give opponent 1 red 1 yellow)
  • Snippet of Wisdom (2 movement, give opponent 1 of each expression)
  • Itemized Comparison (2 green cost, three movement)
  • Loud Criticism (2 blue cost, three movement)

Who to use this on ?

  • Logogar (50 skill)
  • Svartr Rugtvedt (75 skill)
  • Norma Drosh (50 skill)

After several hours of this I got my skillups.

I also managed to get 2 soldier presence, and 1 academic presence.     I’m thinking this was a reward for – wait for it – NOT LOSING PARLEYS !      Yet another reason not to take risks !     I engaged Swiftflang Cloa and Bjorn Rolgar in many parleys, never lost to them, and when talking to each I eventually got the presence point.     Same thing with Kineah Simoro; that guy is the easiest one with my Power Deck.

Trying to strategize Red Blue Yellow parleys will have to wait for another session.       I also have a ton of the hearsay/trends loot – perhaps 40 items which I should travel and turn in for some diplomacy items.      But after discovering the main points (Document and Don’t Take Risks) I’m less interested in better items.    Who cares – it’s all about figuring out a winning strategy.

Responses

  1. What? You don’t use any rebut?

    Trade that Aggressive Statement (2 red cost, three movement) with a statement that subtracts expression from your opponent. Yes, a rebut. You problably have two rebuts now, so you can choice what opponent color you want to eat.

    And learn to play your rebut soon. Sooner you use it, less chance the opponent have to use the points earned against you.

    Geregor Bedstone
    dwarf
    cleric 13 / armorsmith 17

  2. Actually for the NPC’s I listed a strategy on, the rebuts were not helpful. I got a better bang for my buck with other cards.

    Now, it might help with some of the other guys, but maybe not. I believe I got a red and yellow rebut. I really need a blue and/or a green one to help with the NPCs that cause me problems. So I picked wrong, apparently. Ah, the problems with limited decks.

    I also got the mammoth rebut that does -2 to all four at the price of moving my space two backwards – that one I haven’t figured out how to use successfully.


Leave a Reply

Categories

