Posted by: mrrx | January 4, 2007

You have Won the Everquest ! ! ? Want to Raid with us ?

Tezcatlipocca –

D I N G  70  

Started off the night alone in the Loping plains, and invised and explored until he found the way down to the beach, and into Mistmoore Catacombs.       The Loping Plains looks like a neat zone, great place to grind on undead or just wander.    The Catacombs looked OK until I fought in there for awhile, and standing hip-deep in water just got old.

But I found myself with 99.5% XP and just had to grind it out.       Killed all the bloodbats inside at zone in, still didn’t get it, so headed outside and after three crocodiles, I finally hit it.

Not one second after dinging – The noise is still bouncing around the room off the speakers – I get a tell from someone asking “Want to join a Labs raid ?”  I expected to get some requests, but shoot, not *that* quickly.    He swore he was looking for 68-70 but it was still a laugh; I’m getting recruited for raids after nanoseconds of being max level.

But ultimately the guild grats quieted and I got on with business.    Hooked up with a partner and we fought our way through a couple of quests inside the catacombs.     Afterward, gated out and finished up the Frostfell adventuring quest.     I’m glad I didn’t miss out due to it being removed from game.

This led, of course, to a second Frostfell quest, where I delivered presents to a group of about six people.     That was fun – each person talks to you as you go around and look for them first, saying something that gives you a hint what present they would like.      I did have to refer back to chat for one guy, but the rest of them I managed to deliver the correct present to each person.      That should be Frostfell done for Tez – I don’t want to do the candy cane thing as that doesn’t ding a quest.

I do, however, want to do the McScroogle quest one more time and be nasty instead of nice.    The dialog was really funny looking.

Turned in two more collections, then headed out to the Bonemire.     Despite poking around the Drednever Crash Site, I didn’t find the quest which starts the Mark of the Awakened.      I’m going to have to look that up I guess.     Did manage to find Gingus, get word back to his gnomish compatriots, and received a quest to gather something for him just before logging off.

Have managed to amass maybe 36 achievement points – several of them tonight.     Each quest completion moves me along a heck of a lot on achievement, now that XP counts towards AAXP.      I got my three points in the bear form AA, and my first point on my cold DOT giving me three of the four combat art AA’s.      The combat arts are a winner – I find myself rarely using the spells.      Next step, I think, is to max out each of these arts.

1,402 quests.   Still #14 on the server, but now #36 among mystics worldwide.

Some related stuff –  

I’ve been complaining – not too seriously – about the content available at EQ2I.com, and I finally decided to do something about it.     I’m making some of the updates necessary to the site.      It’s fun working on the wiki, but I have to be careful – you can easily lose track of time doing it, there’s so much to do.

I’ve specced out my new PC.     The goal is to run Everquest2 on the top quality setting; anyone know if this setup will achieve that ?

  • Intel Core2 Duo 2.4 Ghz
  • 2 GB RAM
  • GeForce 7600 GT 256 MB (7900 GT has 512MB, but huge cost increase)
  • Asus P5B motherboard (integrated sound)
  • Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD (sheesh they have gotten huge)
  • Windows XP SP2 (and, upgraded to Vista when EQ2 is supported)

And I’m even breaking down and buying a headset & mike to try out Ventrilo.     It still feels weird to yabber away in an empty room, and I bet I’m too loud for the rest of the family, but I can’t ignore this feature forever.

Responses

  1. Congradulations on level 70! And on the quick raid invite *grins*

  2. Woot! Congratulations!

    One of my New Year’s goals is to actually hit the level cap on some MMO I play, something I have not done since I was playing MUDs.

  3. Well done mate.


Leave a Reply

Categories

