Posted by: mrrx | May 1, 2006

Price Increase

My God. Now look what they've done. A station access pass, the only way to get extra character slots, will be costing an extra $3 per month.

There are just tons of people, all over the forums, and people that I know, who pay for this thing for the sole purpose of extra character slots. I knew that couldn't be a good thing, and held out and never subscribed, despite my passion to experience the entire game.

There's only one word to describe these people – suckers.

An extra $7 per month; a roughly 50% price increase; and the only reason they pay this is for extra characters. Sony's accountants rub their hands in glee at the prospect. An extra folder in a databse somewhere, and BAM you increase subscription fees substantially. So why not ? If people will pay $7, why not try for $10?

There will be wailing and gnashing of teeth. There will be phony threats to quit, people will quit, but my prediction is this will be a revenue increase for Sony. I'm bitterly disappointed, but with a secret shame – I knew this would happen and I've been vindicated. Too bad nobody listened to me and boycotted station access too.

No doubt about it now – I'll never have more than six characters. It's unfair and ridiculous; sets a bad precedent; and is a terrible thing to have happen to the best MMO out there.

Leave a Reply

Categories

