Posted by: mrrx | June 13, 2005

Group Quests

Tezcatlipocca : 70% tradeskill XP. Finished off my scrolls for another task successfully completed. It wasn't too difficult, this time : I think it's because my skill got much higher, plus I know what to do and what not to do. Try to speed up the process at first, then work durability until 100% or it's done. Lather rinse repeat.

Began another round of tradeskill items. Another essence, and a scroll. Figured out what I needed and hopefully made enought WORT's to get through the entire process. Then got through the long combines necessary for iron gual ink. Had one failure; or in other words, I got one normal iron qual ink, not pristine.

Next, I saw that the essence required iron spikes, and electrum clusters. I got stuck on this step. First, I didn't have the necessary recipe to make iron spikes, so I took awhile to find it. Apparently I need it on Geomancy; although why I have the recipes for iron bars and such I'm not sure. Then I made five iron bars (which, you make into iron spikes) and ran out of iron. Bah – back to the bank. And finally, I made electrum bars but I'm not good at it at all. I ended up with about 7 normal quality, and 13 pristine.

Electrum bars, apparently, you make using the workbench. Who know ? Use that teeny little forge you see to make a big metal ingot. This game doesn't classify every item in a way that makes perfect sense, does it? I worked up my artificing skill several points in this session, so it should go better in the future.

Also finished up two quests which need groups. I ran out of maple and tubers, so I had Tez run to Antonica and commence gathering. And what did he see while hanging around Caltorsis ? Several of the Plaguebringer mobs just standing there. Now for those who don't know, to get the Plagubringers to spawn you have to wipe out four groups of undead hanging out around a totem called a "Foci of Decay". You have to do it quick. So to see them standing around there is a bit strange.

I took down the whole group with no problem – all green to me. Then I thought, well, let's see if I can solo this. And I managed it – I got another group of plaguebringers and wiped em out. But I couldn't do it after that. Something about the exact makeup of the undead groups around it – maybe some have healing and some don't, or the difference between 4 and 5 member mob groups was too much for me. I was trying to figure out a way to get 4 mob groups when guildies showed up.

Had some deaths in the group for various reasons, but a good time was had by all, and we finished off the plaguebringers. Even got some kind of Super Plaguebringer named guy to spawn, and he killed a few of us while the rest ran away. We took him out afterwards – I tanked him and it was no problem then.

Afterwards, group broke up and I got my hulking stalkers, which just wandered in the area, and went into Blackburrow. In the bottom of the caves there are big spiders, which have all gotten pinked out to me. I had to take out the leader of a group of them – Blightfang Broodtenders – which I handled in the fun new instant respawn way. You engage the group, kill the one you want, run like mad and do a /yell, and then come back. The one you just killed is right there waiting for you again. Lather rinse repeat. Not that I really needed to do it that way – the group was easy – but I didn't want to take a lot of time, killing all those baby spiders.

Then I get a guildy call "Anyone want to take out the Rat Queen?", and I hoofed it over to the Snye. It was four of us – two scouts, a cleric, and me. One of the scouts tanked and we did it pretty easy. Something got onto the cleric and gave us a bit of a scare, but we pulled it off with no deaths. Afterward, I had to wander in the tombs for a bit but eventually completed the quest. Now, with a large enough group, I can enter the Tomb of Tonmerk. Dunno if I'll ever bother; have to check if there are quests in there.

Responses

  1. Iron Spikes and Electrum Ornaments are used for Runes (scout skills) not Essences (fighter skills)


Leave a Reply

Categories

