Posted by: mrrx | April 20, 2005

Station Exchange ! ! ? ?

Big change in the works : Sony to become the "Ebay" of Everquest 2. Sony will broker transfers of Everquest 2 stuff between players.

Clearly this will be a big change, and I'm inclined to be glad *something* is really changing in the war between traders and non-traders. I find myself ambivalent and conflicted about the whole thing.

"It's not the destination, it's the journey". The fun comes from playing, not having, and so I can't fathom character buying. What kind of a blog would this be then ? "I'm level 50 and loving it. K thx bye". And real-life cash changes the game including things like spawn farming, which makes things less fun.

At the same time I don't get the righteous indignation many posters display about using real-life money in the game. Sometimes from the same people with an incredibly mercenary attitude towards the in-game economy.

The mercenary motive of starting with nothing and building up in-game cash is very attractive to me personally. The difficulty being, it's OK if it's in game but not if it involves real-life cash. Something is wrong with that attitude that I can't quite put my finger on.

Well, we'll see what happens. I can always cancel and find other things to do if this become EQ1. And then sell the rights to my characters *and* this blog – should be worth an extra $50 right there [kidding!] .

Leave a Reply

Categories

