Posted by: mrrx | April 16, 2005

Selling becoming fun

Tezcatlipocca – Just selling various things. Suddenly I found him with a full gold piece and much silver, so I spent that gold to buy a 15-slot container. What a difference! So much more storage, so much more ability to sell everything I pick up.

I guess being frugal comes across while you play games, if you are that way in real life. I can't stand the thought of tossing things which other people might want, even if they are only worth a few coppers. Getting closer to not having too.

After continuing to sell, this time by standing in his inn room and putting all the unwanted items up for sale, he has just over a gold piece again, and will probably buy another 15-slot box if he can get say 50 silver pieces.

I'm getting a good handle on what to go after. There's a lot of harvested resources which sell very well, and there's some which nobody wants. Now I know what to go after, and can take it all home and sell it offline in my room, or on a weekend or whenever, stand in my room and sell it all. It's actually been a lot of fun! Good job Sony, fixing the "no fun" problem I had earlier.

Hammerbreaker – Ding 7, then 8. Around 20% XP. Started off on the Isle of Refuge and made friends with some guys, two of whom were on the trial version only so they were stuck on the island. We took out several big monsters, including Captain Rockbelly, and after we broke up I was left with a single quest unfinished.

I asked and asked and asked for that damnable falcon feather, but nobody responded. Finally, I said "one silver piece for the feather", and lo and behold some guy tells me that he has one. Damned mercantilist – won't give it away. Well I bought it and found myself with no quests, so I found a guy to give all my misc Isle of Refuge stuff too (ie, my shells, feathers, and an extra pirate map), then went over to the mainland and Qeynos.

Now this is the 2nd time I've gone through the citizenship story, and it does get repetitive. I sure wished I could skip it. But I did manage to get him set up in his room, with his citizenship, and picked up a few other quests along the way. Now he's finally, really, ready to play – all the rest was basically a prelude. And the best part is, I managed to sell the stupid feather reward for three silver pieces !

Responses

  1. Just popping in to let you know that at least someone DOES read your site!

    I actually really like it on the Isle, and keep a character there specially. It’s kind of soothing.

  2. Hi ark, and welcome. I’d appreciate a link from ya.

    I’m wondering if I ought to keep a character on the island too, but I couldn’t decide if it was a real advantage or not. For certain, the Isle is fun, one of the better tutorials I’ve run across in a game.


Leave a Reply

Categories

