Posted by: mrrx | May 3, 2011

WTF is Innovyx ?

I found my Sony notification email, buried in my spam folder.    And I thought it was BS because it came from Innovyx.net.

Apparently, it’s legit.

http://us.playstation.com/support/answer/?a_id=2324

What do I need to do to accept the new PlayStation®Network Terms of Service?


On March 31, 2011, the PlayStation®Network Terms of Service and User Agreement will be updated. Some consumers may have already received an email from PlayStation_Network@playstation.innovyx.net informing you of the upcoming change.

So let me see if I’ve got this straight.

  • Criminals have hacked Sony and made off with our personal information, including email addresses.
  • Sony needs to notify us by email of the above fact.
  • Sony emails us by way of a third party service, innovyx.net

Phishing emails purport to be from legitimate services but instead redirect you to criminal’s websites, perhaps through a “Man in The Middle” attack, where they ultimately send you to the legitimate site but do something to you while you pass through theirs.    And that sure looks like what this silly service is doing.

Nice going Sony.     Certainly NOT making me feel good about your post-attack attention to security.

Responses

  1. Well, with their own servers down and/or under scrutiny, they went to an outside service to deliver the message. That was probably very smart on one level, as Innovyx is no doubt equipped to deliver mass mailings in an efficient manner. That we got something today rather than next week is the likely result.

    A pity that they did not go with an SOE from/reply-to. But reading Innovyx’s own policies page, they seem to be against that as potentially deceptive if I read things right. Good intentions, but…

    There is no winning for SOE at the moment.

  2. I guess I am frustrated because after I get the message, my immediate thought is that the email must be an attack. There’s no trustworthy place where I can easily determine if innovyx is legitimate or not; their website is slick, but you’d expect that from good criminal hackers.

    I had to wade through over a dozen PS3 forum threads to dig up that little gem from Playstation.

    I do agree – SOE can’t win no matter what they do ATM.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

